Nobel Prize in Physics: What is quantum entanglement

Credit, Getty Images

photo title,

Quantum physics studies subatomic particles

This year’s Nobel Prize in Physics went to researchers in quantum mechanics – the science that describes the behavior of subatomic particles, that is, physics on the smallest possible scales.

The award goes to Frenchman Alain Aspect, American John Clauser and Austrian Anton Zeilinger. The researchers will share a cash prize of 10 million Swedish kronor (R$4.7 million).

The work of these scientists could pave the way for a new generation of powerful computers and telecommunications systems that are impossible to hack.

This year’s three laureates conducted groundbreaking experiments using entangled quantum states, where two subatomic particles behave as a single unit, even when separated.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *